Rockwood is a vibrant and attractive community to live, work and visit.
Rockwood is most prolific for the Rockwood Conservation area which is moderate sized but there is much more to see, dine and experience at Rockwood. The Eramosa River runs through the center of the village and is the reason for Rockwood's existence, having been the source of power for several mills that were the economic engine that spawned the original settlement. Limestone was also extracted from what is now the nearby Rockwood Conservation Area at that time.
The conservation area is used for swimming, hiking, canoeing, picnicking and camping from last Friday in April to the Sunday following Thanksgiving and it has over 65,000 visitors a year.
The Rockwood Conservation Area is most popular destination in Rockwood with numerous parks within and activities and recreation such as swimming, hiking, canoeing, picnicking and camping. There are numerous annual events and festivals happening through all four seasons; food festivals, art festivals, family days, Music etc. There are also Museums and art galleries to experience the culture, beaches, parks, trails and outdoors for the adventurous and various events for the culinary inclined.
Those who favor produce can enjoy the farmers markets and farm tours, while for golfers there are several golf courses while for those with specialized pallets can enjoy local wines at various wineries in Rockwood
Rockwood is part of the historic village of Burnhamthorpe: Eglinton Avenue is the northern boundary, Burnhamthorpe Road is the southern boundary, Etobicoke Creek is the eastern boundary and Dixie Road is the western boundary. Toronto Township South – “Burnhamthorpe” (Dixie & Burnhamthorpe) List of Burnhamthorpe properties as at 1877 that became Rockwood subdivision (with modern-day use).
The Rockwood conservation area can trace its history to the Rockwood Woolen Mills were established in 1867 by brothers John Richard, Thomas and Joseph Harris.
In the 1880s, a fire harshly damaged the mill and was replaced by a stone structure in 1884. During the First World War, the mill would frequently operate 24 hours a day, securing vast orders for Canadian army blankets. However, due to competition from other mills in Ontario, the Rockwood Woolen Mills closed its doors in 1925. In 1959 the Grand River Conservation Authority obtained the mill and land from Harris, and the official opening of the park took place in 1963. A large restoration of the mill ruins was completed over the winter of 2010, allowing it to be open to the public for the 2011 season.
Information on this page was gathered or written by Homeania or contributors to Homeania. Homeania can not guarantee the accuracy of the information provided, and reproduction of this material without express consent is prohibited