怡陶碧谷

概观

怡陶碧谷是在多伦多西边郊区市,现在是多伦多市的一部分。怡陶碧谷由安大略湖接壤的南部,亨伯河东侧和怡陶碧谷溪到它的西部,它是通过几条高速公路和多伦多地铁以及连接到多伦多的其余部分。它的高速公路和公路允许轻松访问不仅多伦多,但所有的整个大多伦多地区。

怡陶碧谷的多元化的人口提供了许多事件和活动,并与当地丰富的餐馆和小型社区商铺为主,有很多景点和活动。怡陶碧谷有原城市组成多伦多,制作一个伟大的地方居住在大城市的人口密度最低,但与郊区附近的所有好处。

ref. - Wikimedia Commons (Public Domain) - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Etobicoke_Skyline.jpg

Sherway花园

Sherway花园是一个位于怡陶碧谷的西端一个高档商场。该商场拥有215店拥有一些奢侈品百货公司,如Nordstrom和霍尔特Renfrew的。在1971年首次开放于2013年商场发生了重大整修赢得了声誉作为多伦多最富裕的商场之一。

ref. - Wikimedia Commons (Public Domain) - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sherway_Gardens_Entrance_7.jpg

娱乐

康乐可能性是无穷无尽的怡陶碧谷。您可以参与艺术活动,健身群体或阶层,滑冰,滑雪和滑板滑雪,游泳和各种其他的运动项目。怡陶碧谷与活动精心组织和广泛的娱乐节目,以满足不同年龄和经验水平。

有许多公园和小径,发现在怡陶碧谷。它也靠近多伦多群岛和所有经常在那里举行的庆祝活动。

怡陶碧谷是走出去,积极的理想场所。有许多小径骑车,滑旱冰,散步或跑步。如果你是一个积极和冒险寻求家人,怡陶碧谷是一个完美的地方给家里打电话。这是规划一日游的理想场所,如家庭野餐或家庭观光旅游,因为有很多景点参加和享受。

历史

怡陶碧谷有不同的组第一民族人民所占用的土地在不同的时间非常丰富的历史。该Algonquins称为该地区的家很短的时间之前,豪德诺索尼(易洛魁)集团在17世纪定居在那里。

最终,奥吉布韦,奥达瓦和波塔瓦托米阿冈昆国家来到定居在该地区。通过一六九五年密西沙加集团已落户该地区,并做了很多捕鱼和狩猎。

名称中的怡陶碧谷的名字来源于密西沙加字wadoopikaang ,这意味着地方,桤木生长。

怡陶碧谷成立于1月1号,十八五十人。镇议会的第一次正式会议于一月二十一。

此页面上的信息被收集或写入Homeania或撰稿者提供给Homeania 。 Homeania不能保证所提供信息的准确性,并禁止复制,不含任何明示同意,本材料的

使用条款 | 隐私政策 | 版权 © 2019 Homeania Corporation. 版权所有

Etobicoke

Overview

Etobicoke was a suburban municipality on the west side of Toronto, and is now part of the city of Toronto. Etobicoke is bordered by Lake Ontario to its south, the Humber River on its east and Etobicoke Creek to its west and it is well connected to the rest of Toronto via several highways and the Toronto subway. Its expressways and highways allow for easy access not only to Toronto but all across the Greater Toronto Area.

Etobicoke's diverse population offers many events and activities, and with abundant local restaurants and smaller community oriented shops, there is plenty to see and do. Etobicoke has the lowest population density of the former cities that make up Toronto, making a for a great place to live in a large city, but with all the benefits of a suburban neighbourhood.

ref. - Wikimedia Commons (Public Domain) - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Etobicoke_Skyline.jpg

Sherway Gardens Shopping Mall

Sherway Gardens is an upscale mall located west end of Etobicoke. The mall features 215 stores featuring several luxury department stores such as Nordstrom and Holt Renfrew. First opened in 1971 in 2013 the mall has undergone major renovations earning it the reputation as one of the most affluent malls in Toronto.

ref. - Wikimedia Commons (Public Domain) - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sherway_Gardens_Entrance_7.jpg

Recreation

The recreation possibilities are endless in Etobicoke. You can participate in arts initiatives, fitness groups or classes, skating, skiing and snowboarding, swimming and a wide variety of other sports. Etobicoke has a well-organized and extensive recreation program with activities to suit all ages and experience levels.

There are many parks and trails to discover in Etobicoke. It is also close to the Toronto Islands and all of the festivities that often take place there.

Etobicoke is the perfect place to get out and be active. There are many trails for biking, rollerblading, walking or running. If you are an active and adventure seeking family, Etobicoke is the perfect area to call home. It is the perfect place to plan a day trip such as a family picnic or family sightseeing tour as there are plenty of sights to take in and enjoy.

History

Etobicoke has a very rich history as different groups of First Nations peoples occupied the land at different times. The Algonquins called the area home for a brief time before the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) groups settled there in the 17th century.

Eventually the Ojibway, Odawa, and Potawatomi Algonquin nations came to settle in the area. By 1695 the Mississauga group had settled in the area and did a lot of fishing and hunting.

The name The name Etobicoke comes from the Mississauga word wadoopikaang, which means place where the alders grow.

Etobicoke was incorporated on January 1, 1850. The first official meeting of the town council was held on January 21.

Information on this page was gathered or written by Homeania or contributors to Homeania. Homeania can not guarantee the accuracy of the information provided, and reproduction of this material without express consent is prohibited

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2017 Homeania Corporation. All rights reserved.